Lake County Port Investment Task Force

The Waukegan Port District (WPD) in collaboration with Lake County Partners and the Lake County Municipal League (LCML) initiated a collaborative process to explore financing solutions and build consensus around a plan to fund the required capital improvements to the Waukegan National Airport.

The Waukegan National Airport is a regional transportation asset and economic driver that contributes $156.56 million to the regional economy, annually. To fully comply with FAA requirements and be able to respond adequately to the needs of airport users, the main runway needs to be replaced at a total cost of $142 million.

The Lake County Port Investment Task Force, a-ten member-group made up of local leaders and stakeholders, is exploring solutions that ensure the long-term success of the airport. The group convened in September 2019. They will meet over the following months and submit recommendations in early 2021.

The Task Force Members

Mayors Within District Boundaries
Mayor Ann Taylor, City of Waukegan
Mayor John Hucker, Village of Beach Park

Mayors Outside District Boundaries
President Nandia Black, Village of Kildeer – LCML
Mayor Donny Schmit, Village of Fox Lake – LCML

Lake County Board
Diane Hewitt, Lake County Board Member, District 2
Gina Roberts, Lake County Board Member, District 4

Waukegan Port District
Greg Petry, Board Member
Bob Hamilton, Treasurer

Lake County Partners
Kevin Considine, President & CEO

Corporate Representatives
Christina Lee, Director, State Government Affairs, Midwest, AbbVie
Dale Johnson, Abbott, Corporate Representative

For more information or questions about the Task Force, please contact:
Mary Lousie Schram,    847-244-0055